Cerebellar nuclei

Dr Yair Glick and A.Prof Frank Gaillard et al.

The cerebellar nuclei comprise 4 paired deep grey matter nuclei deep within the cerebellum near the fourth ventricle. They are arranged in the following order, from lateral to medial:

  1. dentate nuclei (the largest and most lateral) 
  2. emboliform nuclei 
  3. globose nuclei
  4. fastigial nuclei (most medial)

They receive inhibitory input from the axon of the Purkinje cells in the cerebellar cortex and are, along with the lateral vestibular nuclei (which also receives inhibitory input from Purkinje cells), the sole output of the cerebellar cortex 1,2

Share article

Article information

rID: 54864
Section: Anatomy
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.