Revision 2 for 'Cervical lymph node groups'

All Revisions - View changeset

Cervical lymph node groups

Cervical lymph node groups describe the anatomic position of the nodes. It differs from cervical lymph node levels, covering all lymph nodes not just those relevant to head and neck surgery. 

Gross anatomy

Groups described in the literature include but are not limited to: 

  • facial group
  • parotid group: includes periparotid and intraparotid nodes
  • pre-auricular group
  • mastoid group
  • occipital group
  • submental nodes
    • corresponds to level Ia
  • submandibular nodes
    • corresponds to level Ib
  • deep cervical chain group (a.k.a. internal jugular chain)
    • corresponds to levels II, III and IV
  • posterior triangle group (a.k.a. spinal accessory group)
    • corresponds to level V
  • transverse cervical chain
  • anterior cervical group (corresponds to level VI)
    • prelaryngeal chain
    • pretracheal chain (includes Delphian node)
    • paratracheal chain
  • retropharyngeal group
  • supraclavicular group

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.