European Society of Radiology

Dr Daniel J Bell et al.

The European Society of Radiology (ESR) was formed in 2005 from the amalgamation of the European Congress of Radiology (ECR) and the European Association of Radiology (EAR).

The current Chairperson of the ESR Board of Directors is Bernd Hamm.


Chairpersons of the ESR Board of Directors
  • 2018-2019: Bernd Hamm
  • 2017-2018: Paul M Parizel
  • 2016-2017: ​Katrine Riklund
  • 2015-2016: Luis Donoso
  • 2014-2015: Lorenzo Bonomo
  • 2013-2014: Guy Frija
  • 2012-2013: Gabriel P Krestin
  • 2011-2012: András Palkó
  • 2010-2011: Maximilian F Reiser
  • 2009-2010: Christian J Herold
  • 2008-2009: Iain W McCall
  • 2007-2008: Andreas Adam
  • 2005-2007: Nicholas Gourtsoyiannis


The European Society of Radiology publishes several academic journals:


History of radiology
Share article

Article information

rID: 59775
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • European Society of Radiology (ESR)

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.