Revision 13 for 'Liver cancer (BCLC staging)'

All Revisions - View changeset

Barcelona clinic liver cancer (BCLC) staging classification

The Barcelona clinic liver cancer (BCLC) staging classification is a set of criteria to guide management of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC).

The classification takes the following variables into account 1,2:

The classification system sorts patients into one of four categories:

  • stage 0 (very early stage)
    • asymptomatic early tumors
    • resection
  • stage A (early stage)
    • asymptomatic early tumors
    • resection, percutaneous ablation, transplantation
  • stage B (intermediate stage)
    • asymptomatic multinodular tumors
    • intra-arterial therapies (chemoembolisation and radioembolization)
  • stage C (advanced stage)
    • symptomatic tumors and/or invasive tumors
    • sorafenib, phase II trial agents, or palliative treatments
  • stage D (end-stage disease)

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.