Revision 26 for 'Lymphoma (staging)'

All Revisions - View changeset

Lymphoma staging

There are a number of lymphoma staging systems for both Hodgkin lymphoma and Non-Hodgkin lymphoma including the Ann Arbor classification, Cotswolds-modified Ann Arbor classification, and the Lugano classification


Cotswolds-modified Ann Arbor classification

Accurate CT staging has been shown to have a significant impact on treatment and eventual clinical outcome.

  • stage I: one nodal group or lymphoid organ (e.g. spleen or thymus)
    • stage IE: one extranodal site
  • stage II: two or more nodal groups, same side of diaphragm
    • stage IIE: localized extranodal site with stage II criteria, both on the same side of the diaphragm
  • stage III: nodal groups on both sides of the diaphragm
    • stage IIIS(1): with splenic involvement
    • stage IIIE(2): with localized extranodal site
    • stage IIISE: both
  • stage IV: disseminated involvement of one or more extralymphatic organ (e.g. lung, bone) +/- any nodal involvement

Additional staging variables:

  • A: asymptomatic
  • B: presence of B symptoms (fever, night sweats and weight loss)
  • X: bulky nodal disease: nodal mass >1/3 of intrathoracic diameter or 10 cm in dimension
Lugano Classification

Content pending. 

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.