Revision 3 for 'Pharynx'

All Revisions - View changeset


The pharynx is the superior dilated part of the alimentary tract which connects the nasal and oral cavities to the esophagus. It is composed of 3 parts:

Pharyngeal muscles

The are two groups of muscles in the wall of the pharynx, the external circular layer and the internal longitudinal layer.

The external circular layer is composed of the 3 constrictor muscles:

The internal longitudinal layer is composed of the 3 paired muscles:


The muscles of the pharynx are supplied by the pharyngeal plexus, a network of nerves from pharyngeal branches of the vagus and glossopharyngeal nerves.

Sensory innervation is primarily from the glossopharyngeal nerve with a few notable exceptions:

Blood supply

Numerous branches anastomose in the pharynx giving it a rich arterial supply:

Veins of the same name drain into the pterygoid venous plexus or directly into the internal jugular vein.

Lymphatic drainage

Most lymph drains back to the retropharyngeal nodes.

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.